2024 European Examination in Core Cardiology will take place online with virtual proctoring on:
18 June 2024

More information is available on the ESC website:
EECC Online Exam Guide

Chris Plummer
EECC Board Chair
UEMS Vice-President for Training

The European Examination in Core Cardiology (EECC) is a joint venture between the European Society of Cardiology (ESC) and the European Union of Medical Specialists Cardiology Section (UEMS-CS) in conjunction with the participating National Cardiology Societies and is supported by independent academic oversight.

The purpose of the EECC is to provide a broad, balanced and up-to-date test of core cardiology knowledge for trainees. It is intended to encourage the acquisition of a wide range of knowledge and complement workplace-based assessments as part of a comprehensive cardiology training programme.

The EECC supports best practice by testing evidence-based knowledge from current guidelines and published research aligned to the ESC Core Curriculum and European Training Requirements 2020. This is intended to facilitate progressive improvement and harmonisation of cardiology training and clinical practice across Europe.

Each participating national society is free to use the exam in the most appropriate way for the cardiology trainees in their training programme. It is recommended that trainees sit the EECC once they have completed core training and that they have the opportunity to re-sit the exam if they are unsuccessful before the end of their overall training.

Further Information

National Cardiology Societies – see Contacts

Presentations on the structure of the EEGC and example questions are available on the ESC365 website:
Test your clinical knowledge with the EEGC – ESC 2017
Take the challenge – ESC 2018
What is the EEGC? How it works and its impact – ESC 2018
Behind the scenes of the European Examination in General Cardiology
How to succeed in the EEGC: A guide for trainees and their trainers

EEGC Board Chair

Chair - Chris Plummer -

Question Writing Group

Chair - Sharareh Vahabi (UK)
Chair Elect - Christina Chrysohoou (Greece)
Past Chair - Alessandro Sionis (Spain)

Question Selection Group

Chair - Katerina Naka (Greece)
Chair Elect - Ivo Van der Bilt (The Netherlands)
Past Chair - Alexander Borg (Malta)

Standards Setting Group

Chair - Clive Lawson (UK)
Chair Elect - John Bonello (Malta)

National Societies' EECC Boards

APSCJack Tan 
ASOCARAndrés Benavides Santos 
AustriaDeddo Moertl 
BulgariaAssen Goudev 
CSANZEmma Richards 
CyprusJoseph Moutiris 
EgyptNabil Mahmoud Farag 
FinlandJuha Hartikainen 
GeorgiaRusudan Agladze 
GermanyReinhard Griebenow
Norbert Frey
GHAMohammad Zubaid 
GreeceChristina Chrysohoou 
IrelandBriain McNeill
Ross Murphy
Barbra Dalton
IsraelRonen Beeri 
LatviaAndrejs Erglis 
LithuaniaJurgita Plisiene 
LuxembourgAndrei Codreanu 
MaltaAlexander Borg 
NetherlandsCharles Kirchhof 
PolandAnna Fijalkowska 
PortugalMaria Joao Andrade 
RomaniaOvidiu Chioncel 
SloveniaZlatko Fras 
SpainJordi Bañeras 
SwedenAnna Freyschuss 
SwitzerlandDavid Carballo 
SyriaWalid Bsata 
TunisiaSami Mourali 
TurkeyAylin Yildirir 
United KingdomMark WestwoodAnna Kassai


Stephanie THIBAULT

Certification and Assessment Team Manager
Education & Congress Programmes
Pole Scientific Affairs
European Society of Cardiology (ESC)


European Examination in Core Cardiology
Board Chair