European Diploma General Cardiology

Basic Criteria

1. Based on the concept decided in Stockholm 2010 the Diploma will cover the Training Period as well as the Lifelong Working Time of a cardiologist.
We aim to make this Diploma acceptable by National Regulators.
2. For both time periods (Training and Working Time) Assessment of Knowledge, Skills and Professionalism, respectively, will form the basis for awarding the Diploma.
All assessments will be based on The Training Requierements for the Speciality of Cardiology and the  Core Curriculum for the General Cardiologist.
3. For the Training Period this includes:
a. Knowledge Based Assessment (KBA)
i.    Exam (summative test)
  • 120 mcqs (Multiple Choice Questions),
  • from a secure pool of mcqs
  • sat after 3 years of training in cardiology
ii.    Formative Assessment (on electronic platform)
  • access to mcqs when ever wanted from wherever
  • individual account
  • defined amount of mcqs with passmark
  • referenced to educational material
b.    Skills assessment:
  • procedure and disease specific with a trace back function using anonymous patient data
  • supervisor sign-off the same day or the day after procedure
c.    Assessment of professionalism
i.    proof that a 360° appraisal has been performed
ii.    other assessments of professionalism will be decided
4.    For the Renewal Period (renewal every 5 years) this includes:
a.    Knowledge Based Assessment (KBA)
i.    KBA: 250 CME points/5 years from EBAC accredited CME/CPD activities,
ii.    up to 125 (of these 250 CME points) originating from nationally accredited CME/CPD activities may also be accepted.
b.    Skills assessment
i.    proof that the applicant has worked as a clinical cardiologist for at least 50% of his weekly working time during at least 4 of the last 5 years (on average).
ii.    all others will have to document their recent clinical activities (procedure to be defined)
c.    Assessment of professionalism
i.    Proof that the applicant is still licensed as a cardiologist by the relevant national  authorities,
ii.    Incl. expiry date of the license (if applicable)
iii.    proof that a 360° appraisal has been performed.
5.    Applications will be accepted from
a.    Trainees of National Training Programmes in the EU and EEA countries
b.    For Renewal of the Diploma all licensed cardiologists, who are currently working in any EU or EEA country can apply.
6.    Training Centres
a.    All those institutions in EU and EEA countries accredited on the national level for training of Cardiologists may be accepted as training centres.
b.    Each training centre must be able to provide 3 - 4 Trainers.
7.    Trainers are all those recognized as trainers by the national authorities in an EU or EEA country.
Additional Trainers must be
i.    licensed as specialists in Cardiology and
ii.    should have extended experience in the field in which they are supposed to be accepted as trainers.
8.    The Diploma will be awarded to
a.    Trainees after successful completion of
i.    the formative assessment of knowledge
ii.    the exam (Summative Test)
iii.    the logbook
iv.    assessment of professionalism
v.    after having been licensed as a Cardiologist according to the relevant national regulations.
b.    Renewed after every 5 year working time as Cardiologist after successful completion of (see point 4)
i.    Knowledge based assessment
ii.    Skills Assessment: worked as a clinical cardiologist for at least 50% of his weekly working time during at least 4 of the last 5 years
iii.    Assessment of Professionalism.
UEMS-Cardiology Section
Cologne, March 17th , 2011